Home

I finally finished my seed orders. I placed 2 of the orders today, at Cook’s Garden and Jung. I will place the Territorial and Baker Heirloom seed orders April 1.

I just discovered Baker Heirloom. Next year I plan to order as much as possible from them. If you have not received their gorgeous catalog, try to sign up. It is a work of art from a young family trying to compete with the big guys. They offer an amazing array or heirloom varieties from around the world.

I try to buy local if I can but only big brands names are offered at the stores here. This is a dilemma for me…I want to buy locally as much as I can, yet doing so gives me few options for seeds.  So, I spread my seed dollars around: locally, heirloom companies, gourmet seeds, and stuff I just have to have, regardless!

My total cost for all seeds will be approximately $200.00. This output may seem high; however it’s an investment in high quality food.  I freeze and pickle large amounts of my produce, and each fall I store bushels of winter squash, potatoes, and garlic. I  purchased vegetables only a few times this winter.

My garden is also a source of gifts. During the season I share my flowers and give away lots of veggies. I give pickles and garlic braids as gifts. Considering all these factors, $200 is a small investment; however, I completely recover this investment by selling  at the Farmer’s Market.

Flower seeds and bulbs are another story that I will write about later in the spring.

See full seed lists below!

Seed I bought locally

Northrup King:

  • Pea: Sugar Snap and Early Alaska
  • Chard, Fordhook Giant
  • Beet, Ruby Queen
  • Winter Squash Mix: buttercup, gold nugget, acorn, true green Hubbard, spaghetti
  • Carrot, Chantenay Red Cored
  • Zucchini, Golden
  • Bush Bean; Contender and French Filet
  • Pole Bean, Kent:ucky Wonder
  • Large Red Cherry Tomato

Plantation Brand

  • Tomato:San Marzano and Roma
  • Basil, Genovese

Lake Valley Seed

  • Kale, Vates  Dwarf Blue
  • Parsnip, Hollow Crown

Purchased in Cheyenne (Sam’s Club)

  • Backyard Vegetable Garden Kit with: horseradish root, yellow/white/red onions, Italian/Silver Rose/California White Garlic, and red/yellow shallots

Cooks Garden- online order

  • Cooks Soup Stock Collection (Celeriac, Leeks, Carrots, root parsley)
  • Bush Bean: Hutterite Heirloom and Nickle Filet
  • Okra, Greenie Hybrid
  • Fennel
  • Tomatillo, Pineapple
  • Eggplant fingerling blend

Jung Seed- online order

  • Cherry Belle Radish (will use as an early cover crop on main season beds)
  • Joi Choi and Toy Choi (Pac Joi)
  • Cabbage Babies Triplet (green, purple, and savoy mix)
  • Stevia
  • Onion Sets: Red and Yellow Stuttgarter
  • Red Norland Potato Sets
  • All Blue Potato Sets
  • Kennebec Potato Sets
  • Asparagus roots
  • Radish, Purple Plum

Territorial Seed Co- will order online April 1, 2012

  • Bush been: Speedy
  • Corn: Succession Pack
  • Cucumber, pickle,  Diamante
  • Cucumber, Rocky
  • Spinach, Bordeaux
  • Kale, Nero Di Toscana
  • Cabbage, Quick Start
  • Tomato: Glacier and Beaver Lodge

Baker Creek Heirloom- will order online April 1, 2012

  • Edamame
  • Pole Bean, Chinese Green Noodle
  • Ground Cherry, Cape Gooseberry
  • Cabbage, Brunswick
  • Summer Squash:  Romanesco and Green Tint Scallop
  • Eggplant, Thai Heirloom and Japanese White Egg
  • Gourd, Loofa
  • Lettuce, Blend
  • Okra, Star of David
  • Hot Peppers: Thai Red Chili and Giant Jalapeno
  • Sweet Peppers: Pepperoncini and Red Mini Bell

Later in season, I will order:  Pea/bean inoculate, cilantro and other herbs

2 thoughts on “2012 Seed Order

  1. Great advice, Jane. I think you should send reminders to lots of f.m. folks as well as m.g. folks, but maybe include the blog address each time you update your blog as I’m sure I’m not the only person who has a less than stellar memory.
    Many thanks.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

